GROW THE HELL UP, Barack Obama!

Our President clearly has a sick fetish for apologizing to every foreign audience for injustices that he feels our country (or often just some outsider in general) has done to them.  I was one of many who had angry criticisms of the President’s latest “speech to the muslim world” in Cairo and I thought that I had mostly gotten if off my chest after a couple of blog entries and assorted online arguments.  As he typically does, President Obama continually apologized for “western” transgressions, both real and perceived, and even more insultingly to those of us who apparently have more historical knowledge than POTUS he drew moral equivalency between the Holocaust and the Israeli/Palestinian conflict.  [an aside: only a leftist could be so blinded by his need to classify everyone into a racial or ethnic group that he can conjure up some monolithic homogenous ‘Muslim World’].   Mr Obama’s supporters claim that he is using his unique experiences and willingness to come clean in order to mend fences with The Muslim World, but in fact what he is doing is running around making largely self-congratulatory statements.  “Everything was dark and full of torture before I came along…. blah blah blah”.

At face value it just looks like he does not appreciate America like some of the rest of us.  But I think that it is bigger even than his being a card carrying member of the Blame America First crowd.  This is not about mending fences, this is nor about reaching out to people who got pissed off by the previous administration.  This is all about Barack Obama.

There was one thing that Mr Obama said that irked me but even though I have a close relative serving in the military I did not catch the full gravity of his words when I first heard them.  But while I was listening to a podcast of Mark Levine’s excellent radio show, in this case the June 4th 2009 episode available at http://citadelcc.vo.llnwd.net/o29/network/Levin/MP3/levin06042009.mp3,  the significance of one line uttered by the president was pounded into me.

Here is what President Obama said:

Let me also address the issue of Iraq.  Unlike Afghanistan, Iraq was a war of choice that provoked strong differences in my country and around the world.  Although I believe that the Iraqi people are ultimately better off without the tyranny of Saddam Hussein, I also believe that events in Iraq have reminded America of the need to use diplomacy and build international consensus to resolve our problems whenever possible.  (Applause.)  Indeed, we can recall the words of Thomas Jefferson, who said:  “I hope that our wisdom will grow with our power, and teach us that the less we use our power the greater it will be.”

Let us put aside the historical record of the amount of fruitless diplomacy that led up to the Iraq War; history is not something that Mr Obama nor his media buddies will let get in the way of their perceptions and I will not make that the focus of this discussion.  The point in there is that the President of the United States dissed the Iraq War and its importance while Americans are still dying over there.  Think about that, even those of your who do not know anyone in the military.

When you are president there are things that you may wish to say that, for the benefit of others, you keep to yourself.  It’s called being Presidential.

As I said, the real significance of his statement has not fully sunk in until I listened to this Mark Levin podcast.  The last caller really got to me.  Go to almost the end of the audio, at 1:47:40, and listen to the very last call that Mr Levin took on that day.  Here is the conversation (the caller, Heather, was crying during the call):

Levin: “Heather, Virginia Beach, go ahead”

Heather: “My husband left at 3am this morning to go to Iraq and all I wanted to say was it was pretty hard to see the president condeming his mission, so what exactly is he fighting for? But I just thank you for all the support”… [sobbing]… “that you have given the troops, Mark, that’s all I wanted to say”.

Levin: “Heather, you hang in there, Heather.  Let me tell you something.  The people of this country so love and so adore  and support your husband and all of our men and women in the military.  Do you know that?”

Heather: [still crying] “Yes, I do.  I just want to thank you and it’s really hard to see that when I came inside this house this morning and I see the president apologizing for Iraq.  What is he fighting for?  If he goes out there does he die in vain?”

Levin: “Well, don’t allow the ignorance and the really outrageous conduct of the president to affect you, really don’t, because your husband will be in the hands of wonderful commanders.”

Heather: “I know that, I’m a veteran.”

Levin: “Well God bless you, thank you and your family.”

It is time for you to grow the hell up, Barack Obama.  Regardless of how good it must feel to run around the world spewing apologies and they-ea culpas to the world on our behalf it is time that you moved on beyond the arrogant “college sophomore ranting in the quad” self-congratulation.  Act like a President, you self-important ass clown.

One response to “GROW THE HELL UP, Barack Obama!

  1. I wrote a month ago that Apologists are Losers (http://ttoes.wordpress.com/2009/05/06/note-to-mr-obama-apologists-are-losers/). I thought that by now, Mr. Obama would have been counseled by his advisors that it is unseemly. I guess he listens to nobody.
    The vast majority of the world’s population would love the opportunity to live in the freedom we call America. My hope is that it will remain free but it sure looks like Mr. Obama is doing everything he can to take control and run things his way.
    I am an incurable optimist but Mr. Obama is working hard on the cure.

    Tom

Leave a Reply

