Is Newt Planning to Perot Us?

Politco is reporting rumors that Newt Gingrich may run for President on a 3rd Party ticket in 2012.

Do not get me wrong… I am a huge fan of Newt Gingrich.  I still have a stack of Newt ’08 stickers that I bought in 2007.  Not since Ronald Reagan have I seen a politician that I could follow (I am not much of a follower – clearly I could never be a Democrat!).  If Newt runs I will not only vote for him but I will volunteer for his campaign and do anything that it takes to get him elected.  Newt is highly intelligent and is the most relevantly educated man in America; he knows history and has the wide perspectives that come with that.  I am a Constitutionalist so I have no home with either party, but the Right clearly has a little more respect for the US Constitution than does the ever-collectivist Left.

But I have been around the block quite a few times.  I am not some starry-eyed 20-something full of piss and vinegar without any life experience to provide perspective (that is indeed a slam on you young Obama and Ron Paul supporters).  Just to give you some clue as to where I am coming from, I have voted in six Presidential elections and have only voted Republican in three of them.  Honesty compels me to admit that I have never voted for a Democrat for President as they have not put forth a viable candidate in my adult lifetime.  Can any of you say that you have only voted for “your” party in half of the elections in which you have cast a vote?  I thought not.  So do not write me off as some GOP ideologue.

In 1992 I was disgusted with Bush 41.  It was less the “read my lips” broken promise than it was the “assault weapons” ban.  Your surest path to losing my vote is to trample on the second amendment; I am funny that way, being a proud lifetime member of the cold dead fingers crowd.  In 1992, along came the quirky but straight-talking Ross Perot and this is where I was one of those starry-eyed 20-somethings.  A lot of people like me, disgusted with the possibility of a hippie Clinton presidency but unwilling to support Bush 41 for a second term, became Perot supporters.  It was esssentially a “No” vote to the establishment.

But what was the result?  Democrats, being collectivists, were not going to vote for a fiscal conservative.  But many conservatives voted for Perot, taking votes away from Bush 41.  The result was the presidency of the slimy Bill Clinton (who, compared to our new empty-suit President, was incredibly realistic and reasonable).  Bill Clinton would never have been President without Perot, and without Clinton in the White House taking a vacation from history we may have never seen the 9/11 attacks – a Republican would not have stood by and done nothing in the face of all of those mounting terrorist attacks around the world.  But I digress…

I would submit that if Newt does run on a 3rd party ticket in 2012 he will simply split the conservative vote and hand a second term to the radical marxist who now occupies the White House.

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

